St. Louis Public Radio Collaborating on New Programs Beginning July 1

Without continual growth and progress, such words as improvement, achievement, and success have no meaning ~  Benjamin Franklin

Growth and progress often are accompanied by change.  And change is coming to the St. Louis Public Radio program lineup beginning Monday, July 1.

Our move to Grand Center last year initiated a significant effort by St. Louis Public Radio to strengthen our connection across the St. Louis region. The updated program schedule that begins in July will reflect that approach through an expanded effort of collaboration with producers of other public radio programs.

Takeaway_logo

At 11 a.m. each weekday, we’re excited to announce that The Takeaway, with host John Hockenberry, will begin airing on Monday, July 1.  The program is a unique partnership of global news leaders PRI (Public Radio International) and WNYC/New York Public Radio in collaboration with The New York Times and WGBH/Boston.

As outlined in a New York Times article from April, The Takeaway has recently taken on a new approach that includes more perspectives from reporters at local stations, instead of presenting a purely national perspective.  We’re excited about this opportunity to give our excellent team of reporters and producers at St. Louis Public Radio a new venue to showcase their expertise and connect the stories and issues in St. Louis with a national audience.

In addition, some of you may remember John Hockenberry as the first host of Talk of the Nation!

Here’s a sample from a recent broadcast from The Takeaway.

With this same concept in mind, we’ll also begin airing Here & Now from NPR with co-hosts Robin Young and Jeremy Hobson at 1 p.m. This news magazine covers news that breaks between Morning Edition and All Things Considered.

As with The Takeaway, St. Louis Public Radio will be one of several local stations around the country that will be collaborating to provide news features and other content for the program. As a contributing station, we’ll have the chance to bring a distinctly St. Louis perspective to national stories.

Here-Now-Logo

You can listen to a sample from a recent Here and Now broadcast below to give you a taste of what you’ll hear beginning on July 1.

These additions are precipitated of course by the discontinuation on NPR’s Talk of the Nation. NPR notified us in March of its decision to cease production of the program. The final broadcast of Talk of the Nation and Science Friday will be Friday, June 28.

In coordination with these additions, St. Louis on the Air/Cityscape will move to a new time at 12 p.m. The noon hour is one of the most coveted times in radio, and the move will let us really showcase our local talk shows. Fresh Air will then move to 9 p.m. We will no longer air the second hour of On Point.

All of these changes begin on Monday, July 1.

We also have one additional change to our weekend lineup starting Sunday, July 7.  We’re pleased to be adding the TED Radio Hour with host Guy Raz to our Sunday lineup at 1 p.m. Based on fascinating TEDTalks given by riveting speakers on the renowned TED stage, the show tackles astonishing inventions, fresh approaches to old problems and new ways to think and create. Studio 360 will move to Fridays at 11 p.m.

Thank you for your wonderful support for St. Louis Public Radio this year. We look forward to hearing from you regarding these new additions to our line-up.

Here’s a short list of all of the changes:

  • At 11 a.m., each weekday, The Takeaway will air.
  • St. Louis on the Air/Cityscape will move to 12 p.m. (noon) each weekday.
  • Here & Now will air each weekday at 1 p.m.
  • Fresh Air will move to 9 p.m. each weeknight.
  • We will be adding the TED Radio Hour on Sundays at 1 p.m. (starting July 7)
  • Studio 360 will move to Fridays at 11 p.m.
  • Talk of the Nation is ceasing production and will be leaving our air.
  • We will no longer air Talk of the Nation Science Friday after June 28.
  • We will no longer air the second hour of On Point.
Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Tim Eby

General Manager of St. Louis Public Radio.

72 responses to “St. Louis Public Radio Collaborating on New Programs Beginning July 1”

  1. Russell Blyth says :

    The changes sound mostly positive, given that TotN is ending. Discontinuing Science Friday is a real loss, though, and I hope you find a time slot for it.

  2. Joy-Ann Sanz-Agero says :

    I am not at all pleased with losing Terry Gross in the noon time slot.
    Why don’t you get rid of Prairie Home Companion? I’m 77 years old and I think Garrison is cornball. Put Science there instead?
    Next thing I know you will get rid of Diane Rehm.
    As a sustaining member, I sure would like to know how KWMU comes up with these changes. I don’t like the change you made on Saturday with that ‘pop’-quiz show airing at noon instead of American Life. Oh, well…I guess I will have to access the shows l like using delayed airing on iPad programming availability.

    • Luftmentsch says :

      Agreed! KWMU should do more to explain its programming changes beyond glib references to “ratings” and “exciting new directions.”

    • Ann says :

      Amen! I like Teri Gross at noon too…The new afternoon programing has caused me to just go on line and listen to other NPR affiliates. If it isn’t broken DON’T FIX/CHANGE IT

  3. Becky says :

    Would like to see Science Friday in the calendar. It isn’t ending, right? Only TotN? I’d like to see you cut the reruns of CarTalk if it means you can fit in more new programming.

  4. Lori says :

    I will miss Terri Gross at noon.

  5. Rebecca says :

    I am also sad to hear that SciFri is being discontinued. I am somewhat more neutral about dropping Talk of the Nation, though I often find it interesting and am not sure I’ll be as interested in the local programming (but I’ll tune in and I’m hopeful?). I am in favor of On Point is being halved and recommend just about anything in place of PHC on Saturday evenings – that would be a great place for SciFri, if not in name…

  6. Anna says :

    Science Friday needs to stick around. Why in the world is that going??

  7. Larry Nolan says :

    The loss of Science Friday is a big disappointment.

    St. Louis media has so little science information in depth (and very little short content too). I had a long conversation with director of operations and programming Robert Peterson about the importance of Science Friday to KWMU’s programming. The discontinuation of Talk of the Nation has thrown NPR and the local stations into a reprogramming cycle and it’s not known how or when we’ll hear SciFri on 90.7 again.

    So for now it’s streaming via the web or podcasts (just downloaded the iPad app). Everyone please let St. Louis Public Radio how much you want Science Friday. More science stories scattered throughout the week isn’t the same as a dedicated, scheduled program.

    You can find the web access to Science Friday at http://www.sciencefriday.com/audio/index.html#page/full-width-list/1

    • Tim Eby says :

      Larry – Science coverage will continue to be heard throughout our program schedule. Today, Here and Now did a fascinating interview on the rising threats of heat n cities. You can hear it here: http://soundcloud.com/hereandnowradio/cities-are-heating-up-fast-but.

      • Larry Nolan says :

        That’s a good program. Here and Now will be on my ‘listen list’. Thanks for sharing.

        Still want SciFri back on the air though.

      • Don says :

        Fortunately I heard the news about Science Friday right before I was going to write my donation check.
        Hey!! I just saved 650 bucks!

      • dustin says :

        I’ve continued listening to the new schedule with an open mind and after a few months I can not state strongly enough how big of a mistake was made Like many other listeners, moving Fresh Air to 9pm and losing Science Friday has me bewildered. Fresh Air 9pm? Really? Just so local programming can move up one hr to noon? I must say I find my time in the car more mundane since July and I am seriously questioning why I continue to be a sustaining member. Disappointed and disinterested

  8. JumadaSTL says :

    I am borderline livid about losing Fresh Air during the day. Losing TOTN is bad enough, but Fresh Air is too good of a show to be relegated to late night. There really isn’t an afternoon spot for it?

    • Lisay says :

      I usually take scheduling chances with a shrug…with two exceptions…the removal off Hhearts of Space & now Science Friday. I hope you find a way to fit it in your schedule.

  9. Mary says :

    I am really dismayed about the loss of Science Friday. We need MORE science coverage, not less! Also, I love Terry Gross and Fresh Air. Having it on at 9:00p.m. seems fruitless.
    These changes will probably affect my giving to KWMU.

  10. Jim says :

    Science Friday is one of the only concentrated shows on science available. It will be a real loss to St. Louis not to have it broadcast to the public. It’s a one-time two hour time slot. It seems to me that it would be easy to find a slot for it, even if it’s on The Gateway. One of the best slots that’s easily available is some time from the BBC. We really don’t need 6 hours of repetitive programming from them. Knock out two hours on Friday so we can listen in!

  11. Chris Oelzen says :

    Why should we continue to give money to a station and network that clearly doesn’t listen to what we, the audience, desires to hear? The loss of TOTN is clearly bad enough. It was an inciteful and thought-provoking program that was presented with class. Instead of experts on national issues that confront us as a people, we will be subjected to stories of only local interest to those people in New York, Boston and Washington (The Takeaway) or just another “news” magazine (Here and Now). No hard news, nothing esoteric. And the loss of Science Friday shows that NPR feels that its listeners are lacking in the gravitas to understand new and exciting issues in science. Moving Fresh Air to nights reinforces the idea that NPR only feels that we are ATM’s. A true insult to all of us.

  12. dale engelbrecht says :

    My wife and I will deeply miss Science Friday. It was something that we looked forward to each week . We believe that it will also be a needless loss to the community. St. Louis has been touting itself as a growing center for science and technology. Then we shoot ourselves in the foot by making science less accessible.

    Seems we did something like this with classical music, not too long ago. What’s the next thing we can do to make STL more of a hick town?

  13. Grant Martin says :

    I think it’s ironic that you announce that you will cease broadcasting the only science related program in the region and then end said announcement with a video of atomic manipulation. I agree with all observations above. There are 168 hours in a week and TWO can’t be found for SCIFRI? Come now – is it REALLY all that difficult competing against talk radio in this market?

  14. chris miskell says :

    I can’t believe you are relegating Fresh Air to a 9pm slot. Your new schedule sounds like hour after hour of basically the same exact format while Fresh Air was one of the few truly longform interview shows on the air. She has consistently great guests from a wide variety of backgrounds and asked questions that really made them and the listeners think. St Louis on the Air cannot compete. My lunch will not be the same.

    • Hildy says :

      I have been an all-day listener of NPR for 25 years in DC, San Jose, and here is St. Louis. The beauty of “all news” public radio over this 1/4 century is that in addition to the obligatory local talk show, the programming was varied enough that it was most often engaging all day, most every day. This new weekday morning/daytime schedule, however, has no diversity of format. It seems to be different voices discussing the same stories from nearly the same angle in 5-6 min segments hour after hour after hour. TT and H&N have very little differentiation between them — neither voice, nor topics, nor format — and neither add anything to what is already provided very well in a very similar format by ME and ATC. Fresh Air at noon would certainly break up this monotony. As would/did Science Friday. I honestly, after 25 years of avid listening, have turned KWMU off.

  15. Larry Nolan says :

    Still waiting for a schedule rev. 2 to show Science Friday restored to KWMU.

  16. Bonita Dickinson Dillard says :

    Dear Friends,
    I join with those lamenting the loss of the Science Friday program, one of the few science programs available. I also enjoyed Talk of the Nation and am sad to see it go off the air. I like On Point too. I too am unhappy about dumping
    Terry Gross into an evening slot. On the topic of Prairie Home Companion, I
    do enjoy it and its creativity and music, but Mr. Keilor may have said all he has
    to say after 30 years plus. As for Car Talk, it is too bad that it has ended its run;
    although I do like the humor and actually learn something about cars, I am ambivalent about airing reruns vs the loss of some of the programs above.

    Bonita Dickinson Dillard, member

  17. GDL says :

    How to deal with Science Friday (in order of preference):

    1) Leave it where it’s been (live and accessible to callers who are listening via radio or computer).

    2) Move it to KWMU2 (still live, and at least pretty accessible to listeners with computer access (does anyone actually own an HD radio?)).

    3) Rebroadcast it during timeslots currently taken by repeat performances of other shows (Sunday broadcasts of Wait Wait or This American Life,). Or even move it to Saturday morning after Wait Wait (eliminate Saturday’s This American Life, and possibly move Ask Me Another to Sunday’s Wait Wait slot).

    I realize having repeat shows probably saves the station some funds, but it shouldn’t be at the expense of providing listeners easy access to an excellent concentrated Science program. Individual stories on a general newscast are not the same as a show dedicated to science and technology.

    By the way, did anyone else notice the large number of callers and emailers from Saint Louis to the last show of “regular” TOTN? We are a well-represented group of listeners!

  18. Larry Nolan says :

    GDL offers three options for SciFri to stay on KWMU; I’d prioritize them as 1, 3, 2. I do have a HD radio but if the program moved to KWMU2 I’d listen on my iPad instead though that only works if I’m not in a car since it’s a WiFi only iPAD. GDL shows a path forward, we can hope that KWMU management will recognize that listeners are going to keep asking that we be listened to about programming changes.

  19. Luftmentsch says :

    What is driving these changes? When I asked why KWMU had dropped “The World,” I was told that the show’s ratings were sub-par. But since when does an NPR station make its choices based on ratings? Obviously ratings should be in the mix, but I would hope they aren’t the sole determinant of your schedule! Otherwise, we can soon look forward to game shows and jokey call-in shows for 90% of your programming.

    Why do I give money to “my” public radio station if I can’t get a sensible answer regarding the criteria of selection and retention? At the very least, KWMU should make its Arbitron ratings publicly available, so that we – the members – can understand exactly what “bad ratings” really means.

    I have the suspicion that many KWMU shows in fact have less than stellar ratings, yet they are retained due to some sense of obligation to particular listener communities. I would argue that the station also has an obligation to keep St. Louisians informed about international affairs and advances in science? (And please don’t tell me that ATC covers international affairs and science, because they don’t give a fraction of the coverage that “The World” and “Science Friday” offered.) St. Louis NEEDS this kind of unique programming. Someone in your organization should be making principled decisions based on more, much more than ratings!

    • Osman says :

      Luftmentsch, you have really summarized my thoughts too. I feel like as a listener I’m left out.

      It is bad that STL Public Radio is not carrying “The World” anymore and NPR discontinued Talk of the Nation, but canceling only science show in the region? Add “moving Fresh Air to a late hour so that nobody can listen” to the insult and I’m determined that I’m not going to renew my membership anymore and instead support these programs individually and switch to live streams from them.

      By the way. did I mention that I have enough of listening “All things considered” twice?

      Well good by STL Public Radio as we knew, loved and supported.

  20. Marilyn Eppler says :

    I really disagree with your decision to not air SCIENCE FRIDAY. With the dire need for science education, this program provided to the public an informed, interesting, enjoyable format for just that. Please find airtime for this compelling program! You have plenty of general news and stories airing now. I know. I listen to KWMU almost exclusively and am a member. Sincerely, Marilyn Eppler

  21. Tanya Mosaic says :

    I won’t be listening much anymore-Fresh Air at 9pm? No Science Friday? Big bunch of BLAH replaced a good, in-depth show like TOTN. Diane Rehm is all that’s left. Just about time to drop the radio off a cliff with the TV.

  22. Sarah says :

    I was disappointed enough that STL Public Radio stopped airing The World a few weeks ago, but I found podcasts of it on the PRI website and have been listening to it almost every day, in place of some of the now-endless news programs. Now Science Friday is gone. Along with the Diane Rehm Show, my other 3 favorites during the weekday were SF, TotN, and The World. I have been a member of KWMU since 2002 and it is the only radio station I listen to. I used to be proud that St. Louis had such an incredibly broad range of public radio programming but now I feel differently.

  23. Tom Harper says :

    What happened to Only a Game? Marketplace Money is on now. I have not found anything about a change for Only a Game. KWMU website says Only a Game is airing now, but it is not.

    • Tim Eby says :

      This was our fault — an operational error that has been corrected. We apologize for the problem. Only A Game will be back next Saturday at 6:00 a.m.

  24. bob says :

    it’s pretty clear that KWMU doesn’t care about what we listeners think. I sent an email to the ‘contact’ link and got a BS corporate-sounding reply that pretty much amounted to “too bad for you”. they only care about $$, so don’t give them any more. i’m tuning out.

  25. Larry Nolan says :

    I’m really sorry I have to be a complainer about the programming changes. I had been a promoter of KWMU. But I have comments about another of the changes.

    After listening to “Here and Now” for a few afternoons and reviewing their web site, it’s obvious that it’s a daily stream of short 5-7 minute news topics without any coherence. Not worth my tuning in. Their science coverage, examining the past segments broadcast, is a joke.

    Will have to do my own programming via streaming, podcasts, music during these two hours.

    NPR could build something worthwhile by having
    “Law and Govt. – Monday”,
    “Health – Tuesday”,
    “Investments – Wednesday”,
    “Arts – Thursday” and
    “Science – Friday”.

    There are so many topics and issues that need public airing and discussion in depth that having 10 hours a week devoted to a tasting menu leaves me unsatisfied.

    • Alicia says :

      I am in total agreement with Larry Nolan. Very disappointed about losing Science Friday and it seems that the new shows all shy away from the in depth discussions that I listen to NPR for.

    • GDL (aka BBSF - "Bring Back Science Friday" live at 1:00-3:00 PM) says :

      Larry,

      While I applaud your “theme for a day” suggestions (though “Law and Govt” should be on Wednesdays, to follow possible Tuesday elections), the removal of TOTN indicates that NPR doesn’t think that ‘in depth’ applies anymore to their listeners.

      If you listened to the very last TOTN show (with Ted Koppel), you could tell that Ted empathized with Neal, I expect this was because Ted faced a similar fate years ago when ABC decided that Nightline should no longer focus on a single topic, and should start covering pop culture segments (along with other fluff) on a daily basis.

      I don’t know if the decision-makers at NPR have developed a short-attention span themselves, or they just think their audience has. But instead of catering to this disability by providing Twitter-length newsclips, they should help train new listeners to stay with a single topic for AT LEAST 20 minutes. In fact, 40-50 minutes would be even better!

      Oh well, I can always dream (especially if it’s a long, in-depth one!)…

      GDL

      • Larry Nolan says :

        GDL,
        of course ! How silly of me; that’s why Ken Rudin was on Wed. TOTN !

        So, with that in mind, here’s my revised programming suggestion for a ‘new’ TOTN:

        “Investing – Monday”,
        “Health – Tuesday”,
        “Law and Govt. – Wednesday”,
        “Arts & Education– Thursday” and
        “Science – Friday”.

  26. Don Little says :

    Thank God I have satellite radio and can access other intelligent programming. No more Talk of the Nation. No more Science Friday. Fresh Air on late at night. NPR has blown it and KWMU is following right along.

    • James Hulsey says :

      Science Friday is still in production. It is KWMU’s choice to stop broadcasting it. But nothing in KWMU’s press releases mentions that rather important fact.

  27. Courtney Starks says :

    Lack of scientific literacy among the public is a huge problem. Shows like Science Friday can help. I hope KWMU will bring it back soon.

  28. Christine says :

    Re: The loss of Science Friday, Fresh Air and other great programming:
    With the replacement programming trying so hard to be hip and the perky new voices trying so hard to be interesting … I grimace every time I attempt to listen … So … I don’t anymore.

    Thank goodness early morning BBC hasn’t changed.

    You’ve lost my membership support.

    Christine

  29. john cooper says :

    All the changes for the past several years are pushing me further and further closer to canceling my membership and joining KPBS since i listen to more of their programming. I already have to listen to my favorite show “The world” via pod cast most of the time

  30. Pete says :

    I’m listening to much, much less KWMU now. I suggest the following changes:
    1. Eliminate the 3-4 segment of ATC ( which will be repeated from 4-7) and move Don Marsh to that time slot
    2. Move Terry Gross back to the noon time slot
    3. Eliminate 2 hrs of the programming on Saturday that is duplicated on Sunday and run a rebroadcast of Science Friday on Saturday. A 66% decrease in science prograimg is deplorable If you need financial support for Science Friday on Saturdays how about from some of the science-based companies in STL like Monsanto, Pfizer, Sigma-Aldrich,
    E. Merck, Novus, Gallus, etc

    • Larry Nolan says :

      Pete’s got some good ideas.

      There are even more tech companies in Missouri in a number of industries that might step up to funding Sci Fri (even if it was broadcast on Saturday – but I see no reason not to have it on Friday); World Wide Technology Inc. (largest tech and consulting company owned by black-owned mgt.), Boeing, Stereotaxis, BJC, GKN Aerospace, LMI Aerospace, General Dynamics, Washington University, Missouri University of Science & Technology,…

  31. Loretta says :

    As a long time member I have listened and donated through many changes at KWMU but I have to say these changes leave me wondering. It used to be PHC was the only show I tuned off. Lets just say the list is growing. I would opt out of the annoying quiz show added on Saturday. I will truly miss SciFri t was one of my favorites. The new Grand center move seems to have confused the management on what the listeners want to hear.

  32. Larry Nolan says :

    This blog post discusses the resignation of Chicago’s WBEZ long-time CEO and the split in listeners’views on the program changes at the station. Some similarities to what’s happened at KWMU.

    http://radiosurvivor.com/2013/07/27/malatia-resignation-from-wbez-highlights-enduring-conflict-in-public-radio/

  33. James Hulsey says :

    I sent something like the following to KWMU’s “Contact Us” email address, without a reply, so I am posting it here.

    Let me add another note here about my disappointment in KWMU’s decision to drop Science Friday from it’s programming, even though it is still being produced.

    It’s hard to believe that a station that devotes 10 hours a week to inside-the-Beltway-claptrap-that-bears-no-relation-to-how-real-people-live (a.k.a The Diane Rehm show) cannot spare 2 hours for science.

    The quote above, “Science coverage will continue to be heard throughout our program schedule” is thin gruel, because no other show has a science focus, and many of them choose false balance on anything scientifically “controversial”, like evolution or global warming, when the controversy is not from the scientists, but from the politically connected who don’t like what the science has to say.

    And I also wonder with disappointment why the best interviewer in radio, Terry Gross, is being relegated to 9:00 at night.

    I have been a member for over 20 years, and though I hate to use my membership money as a threat, I realize that Science Friday will not continue being produced if stations like KWMU choose not to carry it. So, unless the show is restored my the next time my membership is up for renewal (Spring 2014), I will be sending my KWMU membership to Science Friday instead.

    • St. Louis Public Radio says :

      Mr. Hulsey:

      I’m sorry to hear that no one has responded to your email. Please let me know which address you used.

      As for our science coverage, I must point out that it is not correct that we do not have any programs exclusively devoted to science. The excellent program RadioLab is a science program. We also have a reporter, Veronique LaCapra, in house who only focuses on science coverage.

      Please listen to our general manager’s appearance on St. Louis on the Air to discuss the changes:

      http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/discussing-programming-changes-st-louis-public-radio-gm-tim-eby

      We are sorry to hear that the programming changes have you reconsidering your membership.

      • Larry Nolan says :

        What day and time is Veronique LaCapra’s science coverage broadcast?

      • James Hulsey says :

        Thanks for the reply. The address I used was stlpublicradio@stlpublicradio.org. My email was sent on June 25th (I was unaware of this blog at that time).

        I appreciate RadioLab, but it is a completely different kind of show. It’s heavily curated, like This American Life, and it also only produces a small number of episodes per year (only 58 in its 11 years of existence, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Radiolab_episodes), so I tend to think of it as a special show, leading me to not consider it as part of regular science programming.

        But what RadioLab doesn’t have is the spontaneity of a weekly live show. Remember the asteroid fly-by live on SciFri on February 15th the day after the meteor explosion in Russia? How can RadioLab handle that?

        Here’s a suggestion: If you have Ms. LaCapra there to focus on science coverage, why not give her an hour of “St. Louis on the Air” a week to do a science show?

        I will have to listen to the “St. Louis on the Air” segment you linked to before I can intelligently comment further.

      • Pete says :

        How about an hour of Veronique followed by an hour of Science Friday?

    • Pete says :

      So that makes it a 75 – 80% reduction in Science programming

  34. GDL (aka BBSF - "Bring Back Science Friday" live at 1:00-3:00 PM) says :

    Currently, I’m actually a bit miffed at the Science Friday staff. Their website hasn’t updated the list of stations that carry their show after the end of TOTN: http://sciencefriday.com/about/scifri-stations.html (KWMU is still listed), so it’s been hard to find a Sci Fri station to listen to online, especially one that streams both hours live. I even emailed them about this problem, and so far the site hasn’t changed (nor did I receive a reply).

    However, experimenting around I finally did find a station that carries both hours of Sci Fri live: KUAC in Fairbanks, Alaska! I’m sure there are others, but I tried this station last Friday and it worked fine.

    Here’s their main site: http://kuac.org

    Here’s a direct link to their audio stream: http://kuac.streamon.fm/

    It’s not a perfect solution, but at least if I’m near my computer, I can listen to Sci Fri live again!

    Finally, here’s a link to KUAC’s FAQ page about their program changes following the end of TOTN. Very informative and enlightening (especially in discussing the relative costs of the various programs and how that affected their scheduling decisions). St. Louis Public Radio management should take a look at this page and see how responsive this station is to their listeners’ concerns:

    http://kuac.org/here-now-expands/new-programs-faqs/

    Maybe St. Louis Public Radio will eventually see the light and BBSF!

  35. jANET says :

    I REALLY MISS SCIENCE FRIDAY!!!

  36. Larry Nolan says :

    Science Friday listeners can also hear SciFri via streaming by WAMU (http://wamu.org) in Washington DC. They carry both hours. Works for me on iPad and Mac.

    • James Hulsey says :

      That’s helpful to find SCiFri live (I’ve added to my RSS feed from iTunes, but that’s not live), but it won’t keep SciFri going, because of money they are no longer receiving from stations like KWMU that no longer carry the program.

      So the only option for us is to donate to the show directly. My plan is to send my KWMU membership money to SciFri instead. I will also be sending KWMU a copy, reminding them of the costs of this decision.

      • Larry Nolan says :

        James, exactly as you wrote. I’ve already given a portion of our public radio contribution directly to SciFri while I figure how the apportioning should be.

  37. gelene says :

    I MISS SCI FRI, TERRY GROSS & TALK OF THE NATION :-(
    I’m trying to get into Here & Now.. but I totally want Sci Fri & Fresh Air back!!!
    I like Diane Rehm, but would much rather have lost that program than the forementioned…Got my ‘renew membership’ letter…
    but I’m just holding on to it for now… No longer feel the urge to send it in…

    • Larry Nolan says :

      I want SciFri back also; I’m now listening to it and Terry Gross via downloaded podcasts; sometimes use WAMU live streaming of SciFri. I suggest that before you renew your membership you first make a contribution directly to SciFri http://www.sciencefriday.com so they keep going with streaming (via WAMU and others) and the podcasts. What’s left you can contribute to KWMU.

      However, I really like Dianne Rehm; her program is the polar opposite of the “People” magazine style of Here & Now. I suggest KWMU produce a listener/member poll where we can propose our ideal schedule of programs.

      • Gelene says :

        I like the idea of a survey. Used to be when we got the renewal call that they would ask what your fav shows were.
        Diane had a great show today on educational quality/reasons for improvement in counties that produced top results- loved it n yes- it is less magazine like. :-) Thx for responding!

      • Ann says :

        I agree with the survey idea. While I would like to reward/contribute the programs I like directly instead of the station, but I think it would promote unforeseen consequences, ie. everybody support Diane Rhem, then program diversity suffers.

        Bring Teri Gross back at noon!!! Move ”On Point” to the afternoon…KWMU afternoon programing is now a wasteland.

  38. gelene says :

    Excuse my type-0 on ‘aforementioned’ above! And yes..I agree w/ previous replies… I love Podcasting when I’m cleaning the house on a Saturday.. but it isn’t live. Perhaps I too will forward my contribution to SciFri instead of KWMU…
    It hurts……

  39. GDL says :

    I happened to start listening to Radio Lab today. And while the topic was interesting (the good and bad of zoos), it was a show that was produced over six years ago, from June of 2007! I had downloaded the podcast of this exact show that summer. This is not science news, this is at best a science documentary. Probably a good documentary, but definitely not NEWs.

    This is a problem with similar science shows now in KWMU’s schedule: To the Best of Our Knowledge and TED Radio Hour (both of which carry science segments along with other topics). While I’ve enjoyed TTBOOK for years, and so far I like TED, neither of these shows discuss new discoveries in science that have been published recently. Science Friday regularly discusses such news (sometimes even before it gets published).

    I also listened to a story by Veronique LaCapra a few weeks ago about two young women studying in the Galapagos. While the story was interesting, it was focused on the lives of these two women, not on the research they were actually involved in. Good science reporting should talk primarily about the science, not just about the scientists. Some talk about the people doing the research is fine, but if it focuses mainly on these people, then it’s a biographical segment, not a science story.

    • Pete says :

      Couldn’t agree more … although I didn’t realize that the radiolab program was six years old! Are they all rebroadcasts of old programs?

      That why I miss SciFri it had current science content

      • Luftmentsch says :

        I understand that programming will change now and then. I just don’t understand why people at the station 1) justify the decisions in terms of ratings (you’re public radio; you’re not supposed to be focused on ratings!) and 2) accepts the idea that arbitron ratings (the commonly used measure of audience size) don’t get shared with the membership community.

        I’d really like to know just HOW small the St. Louis audience was for SciFri and “The World.” And are the newer shows – “Tell Me More” for instance – really that popular?! Show me.

      • James Hulsey says :

        This really emphasizes the comments that there is no equivalent programming to what Science Friday provided.

        It’s hard to fathom that KWMU can broadcast a 6-year old program and them pass it off as news.

        I wonder if there hasn’t been some political pressure from the MIssouri anti-science factions, given SciFri’s unwavering support of the reality to anthropogenic climate change.

      • Pete says :

        James
        I’m not so sure about political pressure from the anti-scientists, but rather on financial pressures. I would guess that it’s cheaper to air reruns / repeats than original programming … just look at the repeats of Wait, Wait … and this American Life

  40. Tim Eby says :

    Fresh Air and Science Friday are returning to the midday on St. Louis Public Radio. Read about it here: http://insidestlpublicradio.wordpress.com/2013/09/25/science-friday-and-fresh-air-return/

    • Larry Nolan says :

      Thank you for responding to the loud outcry from the listeners who want SciFri.

      Now how about having both hours of SciFri? Losing one hour a week of ‘Here and Now’ won’t be missed as I don’t listen to it at all.

      Why not get rid of it totally for better programming?

    • James Hulsey says :

      There’s one thing that’s unclear in the press release.

      Are you broadcasting Hour 1 live from 1-2 and then broadcasting Hour 2 delayed from 9-10, or are you simply reboadcasting Hour 1 and dropping Hour 2?

      Overall, I’m happy about the change. Thanks for listening.

  41. gelene says :

    WHOO HOO!!!!! Just got the email! SciFri & Fresh Air are BACK!!!! I’ve been keeping my donation/reminder letter w/ my bills.. just siting there…was going to send directly to SciFri but decided to hold off….. JUST IN CASE!!!
    Guess I know where my $$ will be going now ;-)
    Thx to KWMU for listening to us, your listeners!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

